Shield Master Unleashed


Everyone agrees that characters should be able to charge an opponent with a shield and shove them to the ground. There’s two ways to get this done in 5th Edition D&D:

  • You can do this normally by using one of your attacks to make a shove attack.
  • The Shield Master feat allows you to to this by tapping into your bonus action. As a result of some errata, you can only use the bonus action shield shove after you use your Attack action.
If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.

Since this rule functions in an “if…then” arrangement, it requires that the Attack action comes first. There’s no making a promise that you’ll attack later. You’ve got to do it first.

Crawford Tweet on Shield Master

The Problems

The Narrative Problem. The…

View original post 1,149 more words

Categories: Updates

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.