Casting a Bonus Action and Reaction Spell on Your Turn

ThinkDM

I recently ran a session where I had a weird spellcasting interaction. A player character (PC) provoked an opportunity attack and used the Shield spell to block it. Then, they couldn’t cast a bonus action spell because they had already cast a non-cantrip. This struck the entire table as odd, so I started looking for a way to fix it.

The Rule

The bonus action spellcasting restriction in 5th Edition D&D provides that when you cast a spell on your turn using a bonus action, you can’t cast any spell other than a cantrip other than a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action:

Bonus Action Spell Limitation

The reason this struck me as odd is because the restriction seems intended to impose a limit on the PC’s ability to cast a leveled spell with their action. It does not seem intended to impose a restriction on the PC’s ability to cast a…

View original post 498 more words

About DDOCentral

DDOCentral compiles all of the blogs, websites, and other online resources available for the MMORPG video game Dungeons and Dragons Online (DDO).
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.