5e Surprise Round

ThinkDM

5th Edition D&D doesn’t have a surprise round.

Nor does 5e have a surprised condition:

Principal Rules Designer Jeremy Crawford confirms that if it’s not in Appendix A, it’s not a condition.

But, that doesn’t mean we can’t pretend it does. After all, pretending is what we’re good at.

To be clear, we’re not doing this to change mechanics. We’re making up terms to understand rules easier.

New Terms

Understanding how surprise works in 5e is a lot easier if we relate how it works to the existing game mechanics. Namely, rounds of combat and character conditions. So, let’s define new terms that work in these spaces.

Surprise Round. If any creatures are surprised, the first round of combat is called the “surprise round.”

Note: Alternatively, you could say that the 1st round is always the surprise round, and skip it if no creatures are surprised. It works out the…

View original post 196 more words

Categories: Updates

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.