No, You Can’t Cast Magic Missile at the Darkness (and Other Weird Rules)

ThinkDM

For one of D&D’s most iconic and basic spells, Magic Missile sure has a lot of weird rulings around it. I’m here to help you understand them. Let’s dig in!

Targeting Spells

While D&D doesn’t neatly identify what it means by a “target”, range limitations and specific language within most spells will place constraints on how it can be cast. A valid target must be within range:

In the case of magic missile, here are the stated limitations on targets:

  • Choose creature(s)…
  • …within 120 feet…
  • …that you can see.

The first reason you can’t target the darkness is because magic missile doesn’t allow you to target locations (or objects). Rather, magic missile requires its target to be a creature.

The second reason you can’t target the darkness is because you need to be able to see your target. If the target is heavily obscured by the darkness, you can’t see…

View original post 412 more words

Categories: Updates

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.