This question comes up quite often. There is no official clarification in either the Player’s Handbook or the Dungeon Master’s Guide. Jeremy Crawford said “A non-undead corpse isn’t considered a creature. It’s effectively an object.” But, dead creatures are not simply objects. If they were not still creatures they would not be valid targets for Revivify.
Time of another house rule.
House Rule: A dead creature (non-undead corpse) can be either a creature or an object, depending on the situation. It is immune to poison and psychic damage, but otherwise can be affected by physical and magical attacks.
As a creature:
- The creature has 0 hit points.
- The creature is unconscious.
- The creature can’t move, hear, see or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings.
- The creature can’t take actions or reactions.
- The creature is not affected by magical or mundane healing.
- The creature is an “unwilling target” for…
View original post 341 more words